Being childish in Persepolis

Jesus today was hot.  It was already 5 by the time we hit our destination but it must have still been in the high 40s – that’s not especially fun in a headscarf with no shade.  Also my curtain tent shrank in the wash so I now have to wear an extra scarf around my waist as a modesty panel so my ‘wanting area’ is still covered up (yep, it’s definitely us women doing the wanting here…)

Anyhoo, I managed to shuffle round our sightseeing spot for the day – Persepolis, an ancient Persian city which (very imaginatively) translates as ‘Persian City’.  It did have another name – which I can’t remember – but apparently the archaeologists/tourist board thought that was far too complex.  Not a whole lot of information in English, but I can tell you that this was once Xerxes’ gaff, and Alexander attacked it.  Excellent history lesson from Professor Sturdy.  You’re welcome.

image

Sweating like hell at the Gate of All Nations

image

I remember seeing one of these winged centaurs at the British museum when I was about 7 and being awestruck, so seeing them in situ is pretty cool.  And of course because I have greatly matured since that day…

image

Dangly horseman bollocks!  Heeheehee

image

Speaking of maturity, isn’t that a pretty scabbard?

image

Spreading the local gossip

image

And finally, the only depressingly accurate male/female sign I’ve seen in Iran

Leave me a comment

