Marking Georgetown

Flying back to Malaysia – hopefully my last flight, probably not the last time I’ll say that – I landed in Penang, a small island on the Northwest home to the UNESCO listed city of Georgetown. Along with its street food (more on that later), one of the things Penang is known for is its street art. There are nearly 50 caricatures made of iron attached to walls around the city with little snippets of history about the street they’re in, as well as lots of other works by different artists.  You can pick up a Marking Georgetown map at the tourist information office which shows where a lot of them are, but I kept finding things that weren’t on the map as I was wandering round as well! It’s a great way to see the city. Unless of course you are a completist like me, in which case you will get highly frustrated that artwork no. 13 is no longer there as the building it was attached to had been demolished so you can’t tick off everything from the map. Yep, I’m that sad.

Anyhoo, enjoy the ART!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave me a comment

