Sufferin’ Sukhothai

I can’t say the word Sukhothai without wanting to do it in a Sylvester lisp. Stupid Looney tunes.

18 long, painful, sleepless hours after leaving Ko Lanta I arrived in Bangkok, took one step off the bus, and remembered that I hated Bangkok and desperately needed to leave. Looking through my options at the bus station I decided that it had been a long time since I’d seen a decent temple, so Sukhothai was the winner.

Sukhothai historical park is a collection of temples from around the 13th century, built by some king I can’t remember the name of, because I paid for the audio guide and then didn’t write about it until more than two weeks later. Failure. Look at the pretty buildings though. Ooooh. History.

The site is divided into zones which each have a separate entrance fees, but most of the main temples are in the central zone, so this is where I stuck to. Everywhere you look there are giant Buddha statues and teeny figurines of dancers and horses and holy men left as offerings by the locals.

If you are not me the easiest way to get around is by hiring a bicycle. On the other hand if you are me and a childhood lack of confidence had led to you looking like Bambi on ice whenever you go near a bike, perhaps stick to walking.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave me a comment

